Mailchimp vs Birch Pricing (2026)
Compare / Mailchimp vs Birch
Shortlist
Team size
25 seats

Mailchimp vs Birch

Marketing Automation pricing comparison · 2026

Mailchimp pricing ranges from $0–$350/month, while Birch ranges from $49–$1799/month. Mailchimp is typically 96% more affordable, though your actual cost depends on tier and team size.

Visit
See pricing on each vendor's site
Above-the-fold path — each link opens the vendor's pricing page in a new tab.
Visit Birch pricing Affiliate partner — does not affect ranking.
Compare
2 products · Marketing Automation
Side-by-side · live
Mailchimp
Mailchimp is one of the world's most popular email marketing and marketing automation plat
verified 12w ago
$230 $240
View pricing →
Birch
Birch (formerly Revealbot) is a performance marketing automation platform that helps adver
verified 5w ago
$230 $240
View pricing →
Annual license estimate
Mailchimp costs $948 less than Birch · 25 seats where applicable
Cheapest $240
Spread 80%
Estimated license cost
at 25 seats
List price × seats. Click a tier below to lock it.
Standard
$240/yr
year 1 license · flat plan price
Pro
$1.2K/yr
year 1 license · flat plan price
What buyers actually pay
median, annual
Vendr deal-flow data. The real benchmark, not list price.
No Vendr data
—
Not in Vendr's deal flow
Median annual
$230/yr
Vendr · n=135
REF · 01

Sources & confidence

Every dollar amount and contract clause below traces back to a sourced fact. We don't manufacture composite scores.

Where this data comes from
Vendr · TrustRadius · Reddit · BBB · official docs
Sources 51 sourced facts
44 hidden-cost · 4 contract · 3 review platforms
Last verified 2mo ago
Confidence High confidence
Sources 12 sourced facts
8 hidden-cost · 2 contract · Vendr median · 1 review platform
Last verified 1mo ago
Confidence High confidence
REF · 02

Plans at a glance

Every tier per product. Lock one to drive the cost row above and reveal a tier-specific outbound CTA.

Tier ladder
Click a tier to lock the cost row to it. Locking surfaces a tier-specific Visit CTA.
REF · 03

Hidden costs

Each cost is severity-ranked, with the dollar range quoted from its source (Vendr, Reddit, TrustRadius, BBB, official docs) — never our estimate.

Beyond the sticker
Severity-ranked, sourced
5 documented
  • Contact-Based Pricing Scales Quickly With List Growth
    20-50% of license costs
    5 sources
  • Advanced Features Locked Behind Higher-Tier Plans
    5-15% of license costs
    4 sources
  • Free Plan Forces Early Upgrades
    $13-$20/month
    2 sources
  • Reduced Support Quality on Lower Plans
    5-10% of license costs
    3 sources
  • Contact Count Inflation — Cleaned and Unsubscribed Contacts Still Billed
    10-30% of license costs
    1 source
5 documented
  • Percentage-Based Overage Charges on Monthly Plans
    $40-500+/month depending on overspend amount and tier
    1 source
  • Charges After Cancellation for Accumulated Overages
    $40-$516 one-time charge after cancellation
    1 source
  • Server-Side Tracking Event Costs
    $10-499/month depending on event volume
    1 source
  • Significant Time Investment to Master Platform
    10-40 hours of initial setup and learning time
    1 source
  • Ad Spend Billing Outside Platform
    $200-$500
    2 sources
REF · 04

Contract terms

The fine print, surfaced. Green = buyer-friendly. Each clause backed by a quoted source.

Mailchimp
Birch
Auto-renewal
Yes
Yes
Cancellation
Not clearly published; multiple users report being unable to cancel through support and resorting to chargebacks or blocking recurring charges through their card issuer
Immediate cancellation allowed but no refunds on annual plans
Commitment
✓ Monthly billing available; no evidence of required annual commitment for Essentials or Standard tiers
✓ Month-to-month for monthly plans, 1 year for annual plans
Price escalation
Automatic tier upgrades triggered by exceeding monthly send volume thresholds; pricing above enterprise-level volume is not publicly disclosed, creating unpredictable cost exposure
—
Can downgrade
✓ Yes
—
REF · 05

What users say

Aggregated, with sample sizes. We use whichever review platform has data.

User reviews
TrustRadius · Trustpilot · G2
Trustpilot
1.4out of 5 (24)
Best for
Beginners learning email marketing with a very small list
Watch out
Poor customer support responsiveness and quality across all plan levels
Trustpilot
3.8out of 5 (16)
G2
4.6out of 5
Watch out
Platform can be buggy and unreliable, causing manual ad launch workarounds
Decide
Get a quote from each vendor
Each link opens the vendor's pricing page in a new tab.
Visit Birch pricing Affiliate partner — does not affect ranking.
License cost is computed from publicly listed plans (real math, list price × seats). Median annual cost is from Vendr's deal flow when available — see source badges. Hidden costs and contract terms each cite their own sources. We do not invent composite scores.
Marketing Automation

Mailchimp

$0–$350
/month
4 plans · Free tier
Full pricing breakdown →
VS
Marketing Automation

Birch

$49–$1799
/month
8 plans
Full pricing breakdown →

Mailchimp and Birch both operate in the marketing automation category. This page compares their list pricing.

Plan-by-Plan Pricing

Plan Mailchimp Birch
Free Free /month $49 /month
Essentials $13 /month $99 /month
Standard $20 /month $249 /month
Premium $350 /month $499 /month
Pro ($150K spend) — $799 /month
Pro ($300K spend) — $1.3K /month
Pro ($500K spend) — $1.8K /month
Enterprise — Custom

Cost at Scale

Total cost of ownership — licenses, implementation, and hidden costs included.

Mailchimp

17 scenarios
$45/month ($540/year)
Small Business (2,500 Contacts)
Standard plan at 2,500 contact tier with 30,000 monthly sends
$230/month ($2,760/year)
Growing Business (25,000 Contacts)
Standard plan at 25,000 contact tier with 300,000 monthly sends
$0/month
Micro Business on Free Plan
See all 17 scenarios →

Birch

3 scenarios
$99/month ($1,090/year with annual billing)
Small E-commerce Business ($10K/month ad spend)
Pro plan at the $10K spend tier
$499/month ($5,490/year with annual billing)
Growth-Stage DTC Brand ($75K/month ad spend)
Pro plan at the $75K spend tier
$1,299/month ($14,290/year with annual billing)
Performance Marketing Agency ($300K/month client spend)
Pro plan at the $300K spend tier, plus potential Hub add-on at $49-249/month for server-side tracking

What Users Say

Mailchimp

Trustpilot
1.4out of 5 (24)
Top complaints
  • Poor customer support responsiveness and quality across all plan levels
  • Pricing escalates quickly as contact lists grow
  • Difficult or impossible to cancel subscriptions; recurring charges continue even after cancellation requests

Birch

G2
4.6out of 5
Trustpilot
3.8out of 5 (16)
Top complaints
  • Platform can be buggy and unreliable, causing manual ad launch workarounds
  • Post-cancellation billing for accumulated overage charges
  • Charged for total Meta ad spend, including campaigns not managed through Birch

Hidden Costs

Beyond the sticker price — what catches buyers off guard.

Mailchimp 19 hidden costs

high
Contact-Based Pricing Scales Quickly With List Growth 20-50% of license costs
medium
Advanced Features Locked Behind Higher-Tier Plans 5-15% of license costs
medium
Free Plan Forces Early Upgrades $13-$20/month
low
Reduced Support Quality on Lower Plans 5-10% of license costs
high
Contact Count Inflation — Cleaned and Unsubscribed Contacts Still Billed 10-30% of license costs
See all Mailchimp hidden costs →

Birch 6 hidden costs

high
Percentage-Based Overage Charges on Monthly Plans $40-500+/month depending on overspend amount and tier
medium
Charges After Cancellation for Accumulated Overages $40-$516 one-time charge after cancellation
medium
Server-Side Tracking Event Costs $10-499/month depending on event volume
low
Significant Time Investment to Master Platform 10-40 hours of initial setup and learning time
critical
Ad Spend Billing Outside Platform $200-$500
See all Birch hidden costs →

Contract Terms

Term Mailchimp Birch
Auto-renewal Yes Yes
Cancellation Not clearly published; multiple users report being unable to cancel through support and resorting to chargebacks or blocking recurring charges through their card issuer Immediate cancellation allowed but no refunds on annual plans
Minimum commitment Monthly billing available; no evidence of required annual commitment for Essentials or Standard tiers Month-to-month for monthly plans, 1 year for annual plans
Price escalation Automatic tier upgrades triggered by exceeding monthly send volume thresholds; pricing above enterprise-level volume is not publicly disclosed, creating unpredictable cost exposure —
Can downgrade Yes —

Continue researching